Office finished….

Its finished and I completed it. Nice to have finished it all with out spending money on anything (ok apart from the printer) and its amazing just looking around what you can reuse to make a room feel so much nicer. This room was done more for my hubby so there’s a few things I had planned to do in the room still but he wasn’t keen so I left them. The kids are using the space nicely and remembering to put things back where they belong and the youngest who is 6 is trying to put the books back in the right spot as best as she can.

There was a few question the challenge asked to answer so thats what im doing below then will post the photos of before and after. Im happy as its a room thats now working for us which was my main goal.

1. What space did you decide to organize and why?

The space I chose to do was the office/ dumping room. And the main reason to do this room was that I was feeling sorry for my husband who was sitting amoungest my and the kids mess trying to work . Wanted him to have a comfortable space where he could work in peace but at the same time if the kids needed to do some art there was space for there things as well.

2.  What steps did you take to ensure you completed the space within the 29 day timeline?

I had a list, that changed lots and knew I needed to get stuck in fairly quickly as otherwise things just wouldn’t get done. Biggest thing was emptying out the room bar the furniture and finding homes for everything.

3.  What was the hardest part of the challenge for you and how did you overcome it?

Hardest part was googling office spaces and falling in love with some extremely impressive rooms and realizing I had to do this room without spending money. Also ensuring that hubby wasn’t going to full up the lovely space I just created with old computers.

4. What did you do with the “stuff” you were able to purge out of your newly organized space?

Most of the purging was actually paper so that went to the recycling.Had way too much paper art from the kids that i sorted into scrap books the best and the rest went out.  Other items found new homes to friends and one small box is waiting to go to charity shop but I want to full this box with the next room before I take it.

5.  Tell me one of your proudest moments during this challenge?

Having  it finished and seeing the family respect the space and clean up after themselves. Nice to actually want to go into a room or walk past it without cringing.

6.  Explain any organizing “tools” you used to help you create additional space and to establish some limits and boundaries?

I had found some containers with lids in the garage and I sorted the kids art supplies in them then labeled them. Its easy for the kids to find and put back. They know whats in them and if the lid doesnt fit then some things need to be remove. Theres now a boundary of what can fit so doesnt fit out it goes.

Also for my book case I’ve limited the stuff on the shelves so had to purge some cook books and other books. It created a boundary for me knowing if it doesnt fit i need to relook at what i have and decide what needs to go.

Have managed to reduce our memory items into one box which is on the top shelf of the book case which stops the girls going into it and playing and adding items that don’t belong in there.

I also reused two food tins that got washed out and then covered with paper and labeled these were for the pencils and scissors. they turned out to be my favorite  things as they were bright and cheerful and free.

7.  What is ONE piece of advice you’d give to someone else to encourage them on their organizational journey?

Keep going, some days you will find your just not motivated and by saying ok I can give 5 minutes to this you will find it makes a big difference. Five minutes is all it takes to clean out a drawer and once you complete that task you feel proud and it can lead to spending more time working  in the room.

So I learnt alot of different things along the way and the biggest one is I can love a room with out spending big money to make it look super flash. My mind set changed heaps and now I look at rooms and items and thing oh I can do this and I can use this item in a different way.

Heres a few photos

The last photo is my favourite items and showing the kids art area all neatly done up. They have managed to keep it like this for a few days already. Which is awesome in my eyes.

Thank you Organizing Junkie for giving me the motivation to tackle a room that I have been putting off for a very long time.

This entry was posted in Feb Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Office finished….

  1. Wow! You accomplished a lot in spite of setbacks. You should feel proud.

  2. Doesn’t it feel awesome? I organized my “dumping room” too. And I know that when it comes to kids’ stuff, as long as there is a specific place for everything, kids are so much more likely to keep it neat.

  3. SAHMmy Says says:

    “They have managed to keep it like this for a few days already. Which is awesome in my eyes.” — That’s how you know you organized it perfectly! Good job!

  4. Marishannon says:

    Great job! I really like the pencil and scissor cups – I love repurposing items.

  5. hsmominmo says:

    nice job
    and I agree, it is wonderful to have the family respect the space.

  6. Kim says:

    It looks great.

  7. Pingback: Organizing Encouragement For The Discouraged : I'm an Organizing Junkie

Leave a Reply

